Nose to nose

This is one of my favourite AAGPBL photos. I was told by a former player who was in the picture but can’t remember who named these players for me. If she was correct, then the picture had to have been taken in 1949 or 1950.

It shows that the tendency to argue with the umpire, which I’ve written about in my last three posts, never died.

Alice Pollitt, Snooky Harrell, Charlene Barnett don't like this umpire's decision.

Rockford Peaches Alice Pollitt, Dorothy ‘Snooky’ Harrell and Charlene Barnett argue with the umpire.

I love the look on Snooky Harrell’s face as she seems to be telling the umpire that she can’t believe that’s how he called the play.

About Lois Browne

The Pleasures of Travel
This entry was posted in Players and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment